Basic facts about IELTS (International, English, Language, Testing, System) that you should know

The International English Language Testing System is an international standardized test of English language proficiency that over 3 million people take per year. It is jointly managed by the British Council and is trusted by more than 11,000 organizations globally.

  • IELTS (International, English, Language, Testing, System)  is an English language test for study, migration, or work.
  • Some of the countries that use IELTS are Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the UK, and the USA.
  • There are four papers in IELTS namely listening, reading, writing, and speaking, and it’s graded on a scale of 1-9
  • There are two types of IELTS tests namely IELTS Academic and IELTS General Training the test you choose should be based on what you wanna do
  • IELTS Academic measures whether your level of English language proficiency is suitable for an academic environment. It reflects aspects of academic language and evaluates whether you’re ready to begin training or studying.
  • IELTS General Training measures English language proficiency in a practical, everyday context. The tasks and tests reflect both workplace and social situations.
  • IELTS can be taken on a computer or paper
  • It is offered up to 4 times a month
  • No minimum score is required to pass the test
  • The speaking test is a key component of IELTS.


This article is published as part of the opportunity recommendation service. The opportunity recommendation service helps our users achieve their dreams and self-actualize in anything that they pursue, this can be in the form of grants, jobs, scholarships, or even residencies. We also help you with your applications and CVs through the Application/CV drop-in clinic held every other Sunday from 6 pm-7 pm (East Africa Timezone). For inquiry, please message us on the 'QAN Community Admin' account.

QAN Community Admin

33 Blog posts